Executive Committee

Standing Committees


President  Matthew Ek

EkMatthew Ek, PLS, LLS attended Lee Academy in Lee, Maine, and the University of Maine in Orono where in 1988 he earned an associate’s degree in Civil Engineering Technology on a Surveying Track.  He has been employed by Sebago Technics, Inc for over 22 years and is currently the Director of Survey/GIS Advancement.  He has seen an incredible change in technology over his 29 years in Surveying.  He now uses Robotic Total Stations, Global Positioning Systems (GPS), and has been using High Definition Laser Scanning since 2013.    

He is licensed in Maine and New Hampshire and has been a member of both state societies for many years.  He has been the Vice President of the Narragansett Chapter and the chapters Director at the MSLS Executive Committee. He previously served as as Vice President and MSLS’s liaison to the Board of Licensure and Chairman of the Legislative Committee.

He lives with his wife Candy in Portland, and enjoys camping, snowshoeing, hiking, fishing and traveling. He is also Vice President of the Pine Tree Rod and Gun Club.   

Vice President  Donald Dostie

Donald Dostie is the president and founder of Four Points Associates Inc., based in the Lewiston, Maine area since 2003. A graduate from the University of Southern Maine, Mr. Dostie majored in History and began his career as a paralegal working with the Attorney General’s office and Bureau of Taxation. He has over 30 years of experience as a land surveyor starting as a technical researcher with Sebago Technics in 1986, gaining licensure as a professional in Maine and New Hampshire in 1993, and 1997.

Mr. Dostie is active with the Maine Music Society and Chamber Singers since 2017 and has performed in a Barbershop quartet as part of Community Little Theater’s production of “Music Man” in the fall of 2018.

He previously served as Director at Large for the Maine Society of Land Surveyors (MSLS) and has previously served on the Legislative Committees for both MSLS and the Maine Real Estate Development Association (MEREDA). Mr. Dostie is a mentor with the Young Surveyors of Maine having participated in a group hike up Mount Katahdin this past summer.      

Secretary Secretary  Kevin Farrar

FarrarKevin Farrar began his career in land surveying with Technical Services, Inc. in 1986 upon receiving his Associates Degree in Architectural and Civil Engineering Technology from Central Maine Community College in Auburn.  He earned his professional surveyors license in 1991 and he currently works for Summit Geoengineering Consultants in Lewiston.

He has been a member of the Maine Society of Land Surveyors from 1987-present and Androscoggin Chapter, MSLS, 1989-present.  Kevin has served as Secretary for MSLS Executive Committee, 2000 - present and was Androscoggin Chapter President in 1992.

Kevin resides in Lewiston with his wife, Eve.  Children include Matthew, Megan, Kelly, Gabriella and Victoria.  Hobbies include traveling, cooking, and working for a stock car racing touring series.

Treasurer  George Bouchles

George Bouchles,  PLS, LSE, CSI began his Land Surveying career in 1970 and has been involved in all aspects of the Land Surveying business from Mortgage Loan Inspections to Land Title Surveys ever since. Currently he’s the owner of CADmaster Drafting, Land Surveying and Septic Design located in Auburn providing Land Surveying, Septic System Designs and CAD drafting services to other Land Surveyors and Engineers.

He’s been a member of MSLS for a number of years, served as President and Secretary/ Treasurer and Director of the Androscoggin Chapter.

He lives in Auburn with his 23 year old son and spends his free time riding his Harley and traveling.

Executive Committee (ExCom) Members

George Bouchles, Treasurer
Ellen Brewer, Director - At Large

George Bouchles, Treasurer
(Pending), Director - Hancock/Penobscot Chapter
Keith Morse, Director - Androscoggin Chapter
Donald Dostie, Vice President
Matthew Ek, President
Kevin Farrar, Secretary
Stephen Gould, Director Somerset Chapter
William Shippen, NSPS Director & Imediate Past President  
Karl Olson, Director - Midcoast Chapter
Jon Stewart, Director - At Large

Kilburn B. Swallow, Director - Crown of Maine Chapter
Wayne Wood, Director - Narragansett Chapter

Members are welcome to attend ExCom meetings. Check the most recent issue of FieldNotes for a specific upcoming meeting time and place or contact any ExCom member.. Meetings which are generally held the second Tuesday of each month (except for one combined summer date). .








Learn about MSLS Committees ~ Serve on a MSLS Committee

The advancement of our profession and important Society work is largely accomplished by individuals willing to their time to work on a MSLS committee.  If you might be willing to join a committee to help work on a special project, ongoing MSLS efforts, or just want to find out more about committees, contact Executive Director,
Bruce Bourgoine for more information.

Standing MSLS Committees

Legislative Committee (Don Dostie, Chair & Dan Bernier, Counsel)
Nominating Committee (William Shippen, Chair)
Constitution & Bylaws Committee (Copeland, Bouchles, Morse)
* Ethics Committee
* Unlicensed Practice

Membership Committee (Donald Dostie)
Budget & Finance Committee (George Bouchles)
Board of Licensure (Donald Dostie, Liaison)
NSPS (William Shippen, Director)

SVT at UM (Stephen Gould, Liaison)
GIS (Camille Alden)
MDOT (Peter Belenager, Liaison)

FEMA (Mark Carpenter)
Publications Committee (Bruce Bourgoine, Editor)
Education Committee (Deborah Briggs)
Scholarship Committee (John Lloyd, Chair)
Historical Committee (Bill Saucier, Chair)
* Public Relations Committee
MSLS Web (Bruce Bourgoine, Webmaster)
Program Committee (Steve Gould & John Lloyd, Co-chairs)
Case Law Update/ADR (Donald Richards, Chair)

* Committee has no current assignments or is vacant.